Medicine vs Shamanism

I have confused the words Medicine man for shamanism… exclusively…but in my search for self…I have found a big difference…the difference is as different as work is to labor…A medicine man might be defined as: A male shaman or shamanistic healer, especially among Native American peoples, but it doesn’t necessarily define medicine…I have been in the company of shaman…but the work…the work for me is the medicine…to know your medicine…is to know your work…everyone in that sense who knows and enjoys their work, could by definition be considered medicine people…Although I have been very close to shamanism…my work or medicine is not that of a shamanistic healer in the traditional sense…so I had to redefine the work in order to understand the healer in me…I am finding personal healing and peace in this wisdom…I hope you will too…

Leave a Reply

